Queensland to host 2022 Australian Women Lawyers conference

The nation’s most senior judicial officer will be the keynote speaker as Queensland plays host to the Australian Women Lawyers 2022 conference in August.

High Court of Australia Chief Justice Susan Kiefel AC is one of an eminent list of leading women lawyers scheduled to speak during the in-person conference to be held at Law Society House in Brisbane starting Friday 5 August.

The three-day conference includes a keynote address by Chief Justice Kiefel, with other speakers including Land Court of Queensland President Fleur Kingham, former Family Court of Australia Chief Justice Diana Bryan AO QC, Australian Human Rights Commission Director Prabha Nandagopal, barrister Fiona McLeod SC and AWL President Leah Marrone.

The conference will conclude with a brunch to be hosted by College of Law Queensland Executive Director Ann-Maree David on Sunday 7 August.

The AWL was established by a committee of leading lawyers from around the national between April 1995 and September 1997.

The inaugural president of the AWL was also the first woman appointed a Justice to the High Court of Australia – the Honourable Mary Gaudron QC. The now retired Justice Gaudron was appointed to the High Court in 1987 and AWL in September 1997 (and remained its patron until February 2009).


Also in Queensland, the Women Lawyers Association of Queensland (WLAQ) has announced its new elected executive committee following its annual general meeting on Thursday (23 June).

The committee comprises Jessica McClymont (President), Nichola Di Muzio and Sarah Ford (Vice Presidents), Jessica Grumelart (Secretary), Amie Mish-Wills (Treasurer) and Catherine Cheek (Immediate Past President).

A further 10 leading lawyers were appointed to the WLAQ’s management committee.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword