Chief Justice recommends appointment of 14 silks

Fourteen distinguished Queensland barristers have been named to take silk in accordance with recommendations by Chief Justice Helen Bowskill.

A veritable who’s who of the Queensland Bar was last week approved by Queensland Governor Dr Jeanette Young AC PSM – via the issuing of Letters Patent – as King’s Counsel (KC).

Those to take silk, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Holly Louisa Blattman
  • Daniel James Butler
  • David Edward Francis Chesterman
  • Sarah Joyce Farnden
  • Donald Benjamin Gardiner
  • Edward James Goodwin
  • David Paul Jones
  • David Daniel Keane
  • Gerard Raymond Mullins
  • Katarina Prskalo
  • Timothy Anthony Ryan
  • Angus David Scott
  • Mark Justin Steele
  • Craig Anthony Wilkins

The new silks are expected to be acknowledged during the annual Christmas greetings in the QEII Courts of Law’s ceremonial Banco Court on Wednesday 14 December.

The ceremony, scheduled to start at 9.15am, includes the exchange of Christmas greetings between Chief Justice Bowskill and other judges of the Supreme Court with members of the legal profession and public.

The newly appointed KCs will be asked to announce their appointments to the court, along with recent appointees to the Queensland Bar.


Invited guests and legal practitioners will be shown to their seats on arrival at the Banco Court. Other practitioners and members of the public are welcome to attend.

If the Banco Court reaches capacity, the nearby Court 3 will be available as on overflow courtroom from which the ceremony can be viewed.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword