Members honoured and President welcomed at QLS Legal Profession Dinner

More than 350 practitioners and distinguished guests attended the annual QLS Legal Profession Dinner on Friday night, welcoming 2021 President Elizabeth Shearer, and recognising honorary members and award winners.

In her official welcome to the Profession, President Elizabeth Shearer congratulated the profession on what had been a trying 12 months for practitioners personally and professionally.

“In extraordinary times, our clients turned to their trusted advisor, their solicitor. And we didn’t let them down. We worked collegiately and collaboratively, with each other, and with our partners in the justice system – the Courts, the Bar, and executive government, to ensure that justice was neither denied, nor unduly delayed,” President Shearer said.

“We did what we always do, we held our duty to the court as paramount, we put our client’s interests ahead of our own, we provided trusted advice to our clients, and collectively, through QLS we provided trusted advice to our partners in the justice system about the change necessary to meet the moment.”

With CEO Rolf Moses as MC for the evening, the audience was treated to an inspiring address from Dr Jacboba Brasch QC, President of the Law Council of Australia and the Honourable Shannon Fentiman MP, Attorney-General and Minister for Justice, Minister for Women and Minister of Domestic and Family Violence.

The evening also recognised the trailblazers who are shaping the future of the legal profession, as well as longstanding members who have shown dedication and loyalty within the profession for decades.


President Shearer presented Greg Vickory AO and Paul Martinez with 50-year honorary membership pins and Magistrate Ken Taylor and The Honourable Justice Frances Williams were recognised for their significant contributions to the legal profession.

The evening also celebrated the three winners of the QLS Awards:

  • The 2021 Emerging Leader Award
  • The 2021 Agnes McWhinney Award
  • The 2021 QLS President’s Medal.

Michael Murray was awarded the 2021 QLS Emerging Leader Award, recognised as a high-performing practitioner with outstanding leadership who supports emerging lawyers on their journey in the profession.

Michael Murray, winner of the 2021 QLS Emerging Leader Award.

The 2021 Agnes McWhinney Award was awarded to Zinta Harris, recognising her as a female practitioner who has facilitated a pathway within the profession for those around her and how her ordinary commitment and service to the profession and community has an extraordinary effect.

Zinta Harris, Recipient of the 2021 Agnes McWhinney Award.

Terry O’Gorman was the recipient of the 2021 QLS President’s Medal. This prestigious award recognises an experienced legal practitioner who has shown great integrity, courage and responsibility through their commitment to continual improvement of the profession and themselves.

Terry O’Gorman, 2021 QLS President’s Medal.

The evening concluded with a toast to the profession led by Attorney-General Shannon Fentiman and networking amongst guests and colleagues

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword