QLS awards shine a light on excellence

Three 2022 Queensland Law Society legal profession awards are currently open for peer nominations.

The three awards categories are the President’s Medal, the QLS Agnes McWhinney award and the QLS Emerging Leader award.

The QLS awards seek to acknowledge the efforts of Queensland’s legal practitioners, and give solicitors, teams and organisations the chance to showcase their contribution to the legal profession and to the community more broadly.

The President’s Medal recognises an experienced legal practitioner who has shown courage, responsibility and integrity through their commitment to improving the profession and themselves. The Agnes McWhinney award credits a woman who has facilitated a pathway in the legal profession for those around her. The Emerging Leader award acknowledges a high-performing practitioner with outstanding leadership attributes.

Peer nominations can be submitted via the online award nomination platform, to be reviewed by the judging panel. Each nomination will be assessed against the awards’ criteria and guidelines. The nominations will close at 5pm on Friday 28 January.

Access more information on the individual awards.


QLS 2022 President Kara Thomson will present the President’s Medal to the successful candidate at the 2022 Legal Profession Dinner.

Last year’s award winners included Terry O’Gorman AM, recipient of the 2021 President’s Medal, Zinta Harris, recipient of the 2021 Agnes McWhinney award, and Michael Murray, winner of the 2021 Emerging Leader award.

Nominate a QLS member, view the FAQs or contact for further information on QLS awards and categories.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword