QLS member milestones celebrated in Brisbane

Brisbane CRS
50-year membership pin recipients at last night’s Brisbane ‘Celebrate, Recognise, Socialise’ function at Blackbird Bar & Grill with QLS President Kara Thomson.

Eight lawyers marking 50-year Queensland Law Society membership milestones were last night among 34 to be honoured in Brisbane for long-standing commitment to the legal profession.

The annual QLS ‘Celebrate, Recognise, Socialise’ (CRS) events acknowledge outstanding contributions of local legal practitioners and recognise 25 and 50 years’ consistent membership with the Society.

The Brisbane CRS function was the fifth of a series held recently across the state – in Cairns, Townsville, and on the Sunshine Coast and Gold Coast.

Lawyers James Creagh, Iain Marshall, Vincent Hefferan, Christopher Toogood, Geoffrey Hyland, Dennis Boucher, Paul Sayer and David Grace OAM (pictured) are part of a cohort of 13 to reach half a century of service in Queensland this year.

QLS President Kara Thomson last night congratulated both the 25 and 50-year members on their notable achievements; presenting their membership pins and extending her appreciation for the roles they have played in leading the profession.

“Each of you are part of the legacy of QLS, which dates back to the first meeting in 1873,” Ms Thomson said. “This evening’s pin recipients are leaders of the legal profession who have made significant contributions over decades to the court, their clients, colleagues and communities.


“We take note that you have achieved this milestone, not only because of your hard work and dedication to the profession, but also because of the support network you have surrounded yourself with.

“I take this opportunity to also acknowledge and thank the family and colleagues who have provided you with encouragement and support during the course of your career – I am sure they have played a critical role in your longevity, wellbeing and successes.”

Last night’s 25-year pin recipients included Margaret Redmond, Robyn Wilkinson, Russell Sparke, Craig Chapman, Lachlan Trafford-Walker, Nandakumar Gulhane, Scott Butler, Michelle Denning, Majella Pollard, Julie Brown, Matthew Baker, Paul Agnew, Mark Edwards, Warren Jiear, Gavin Scott, Andrew Shute, Malcolm McBratney, Damien Van Brunschot, Susan Andersen, Brady Cockburn, Matthew Buchanan, Roderick O’Sullivan, Aaron Webb, Timothy Hancock, Robert Tidbury and Tracy Pickett.

Brisbane CRS

Other QLS members marking 50-year milestones in 2022 are Joseph Mackay in Brisbane, Garry Cockerill, Robert Lehn and Michael Kyle OAM on the Gold Coast, and Virgil Power on the Sunshine Coast.

112 QLS members are this year being recognised for 25 years’ service.

The Mackay CRS event will be held on Tuesday 8 November.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword