The when and where of Queensland courthouses

Original image of the library next to an old book

Since Queensland separated from New South Wales in 1859, judicial officers have sat in more than 170 places around the state.

While some communities have permanent courthouses with resident judges or magistrates, others are visited on circuit. This helps to make justice accessible to everyone – regardless of where they live.

This year Supreme Court Library Queensland is moving beyond Brisbane to explore how our legal system was established in regional Queensland.

It is looking at the places where the Supreme Court and District Court of Queensland sat in their early years – including Ipswich, Toowoomba, Warwick, Cairns and Rockhampton – to uncover the stories behind the courthouses and judicial officers that have helped form the legal system we have today.

An initial display, open now until 11 September 2020, focuses on Ipswich, Toowoomba and Warwick.

13 July to 11 September
Free entry, weekdays from 8.30am to 4.30pm
Supreme Court Library Queensland

More details are available here.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword