Kara named WLAQ Lawyer of Year

Queensland Law Society (QLS) Immediate Past President Kara Thomson has won the Leneen Forde AC Woman Lawyer of the Year Award.

The award was one of three conferred by the Women Lawyers Association of Queensland (WLAQ) at its annual awards dinner in Brisbane on Saturday, with Cairns practitioner Jerry Tucker named Regional Woman Lawyer of the Year and Hannah McNeale named Emergent Woman Lawyer of the Year.

Supreme Court Justice Ann Lyons was named the WLAQ 2023 Woman of Excellence.

Kara (pictured above) is a leading personal injury litigation lawyer who has held QLS Specialist Accreditation for a decade. She has a particular interest in managing catastrophic and technical claims and appearing as solicitor advocate.

Kara has been a QLS Councillor since 2016, including terms as Vice President in 2020 and 2021, and President in 2022. Her time with the society has involved being appointed to various regulatory committees, as well as the Supreme Court Library Committee and as non-Executive Director of the Law Council of Australia.

She was also named in the 2020 WLAQ Inspiration list, and recognised in the Australian Financial Review Best Lawyers List for 2020 and 2021 in Insurance Law.

Jerry Tucker


Jerry is Special Counsel at Bottoms English Lawyers in Cairns and President of the Far North Queensland Law Association. She was admitted in 2013, and practices predominantly in class action litigation with a focus on human rights and racial discrimination.

Hannah McNeale

Hannah is a Senior Legal Officer with the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions. She was admitted in April 2022 and regularly appears as an advocate in the Children’s, District and Supreme Courts.

WLAQ President Jessica McClymont said: “The 45th Annual Awards Dinner was a resounding success, with attendees joining in celebrating the achievements of these remarkable women, the awards finalists, and of all women in law”.

Jess said the event raised almost $20,000 for Women’s Legal Service Queensland and the Beryl Donkin Memorial Trust Fund, which funds WLAQ’s bi-annual scholarship of the same name.

Keep an eye on Proctor for all the glamour of Saturday’s WLAQ 45th Annual Awards at Victoria Park.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword