Former QLS President one of three new magistrates

Townsville-based solicitor and 2018 Queensland Law Society President Ken Taylor is one of three new magistracy appointments announced by the State Government.

Queensland Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Yvette D’Ath today announced Mr Taylor would take up his appointment in the Townsville Magistrates Court from 13 July.

Ms D’Ath announced that the two other appointees, barrister and current Queensland Sentencing Advisory Council member Kathleen Payne and Acting Magistrate Grace Kahlert, would commence their roles at the Southport Magistrates Court.

Queensland Law Society President Luke Murphy welcomed the appointment of Mr Taylor, his former QLS Council colleague and a highly-respected solicitor.

“The appointment of Mr Taylor will be warmly received throughout all sections of the North Queensland legal community,” Mr Murphy said.

“It will be particularly well received in Townsville and will see Mr Taylor continue his long and esteemed history as a practitioner in his own local community.


The Society is also delighted to see that Ms Kahlert – who was admitted as a solicitor in 1992 – has been rewarded for her years of dedicated service with such an esteemed role.”

Mr Taylor was a founding partner and director of Townsville law firm Purcell Taylor Lawyers and was admitted as a solicitor in December 1989.

He gained QLS specialist accreditation in personal injury law in 1999 and served as a QLS Council member for four years before being elected 2018 President.

Mr Murphy also praised the Government for elevating former solicitor and Acting Magistrate Grace Kahlert to a permanent role on the Gold Coast, as well as rewarding barrister Kathleen Payne for years of highly regarded service to the profession with a posting to Southport Magistrates Court.

Ms D’Ath said the Judicial Appointments Advisory Panel, which includes Queensland Law Society and the Bar Association of Queensland, supported the appointments.

She said the appointments would result in each of three magistrates serving a minimum of two years in their jurisdictions from 13 July.

Share this article

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword