Welcome ceremony for new District Court judges

A welcome ceremony for three newly appointed Queensland District Court judges will be beamed live into courts across the state.

Brisbane-based legal practitioners and members of the public were today invited to the welcome ceremony for Judges Rowan Jackson QC, Jeffrey Clarke and Geraldine Dann at Brisbane’s QEII Courts of Law complex at 9.15am on Thursday 17 September.

Due to COVID-19 safety measures there is no capacity to accommodate anyone in the complex’s ceremonial Banco Court other than formally invited guests. However, a court spokeswoman said Courtroom 23 on Level 7 of the complex would be made available for legal practitioners and the general public to view the ceremony.

“Members of the public are welcome to attend,” she said.

The court this morning advised that, due to considerable interest in the event throughout Queensland, the ceremony would be live-streamed to courthouses in Beenleigh, Cairns, Ipswich, Maroochydore, Rockhampton, Southport and Townsville.

Attorney-General and Minister for Justice Yvette D’Ath last week announced the appointments, saying that all three judges were legal practitioners who were well respected in the Queensland legal profession.


Ms D’Ath said Judges Jackson and Clarke would take on up their positions on the bench, at Southport and Rockhampton respectively, from 31 August, with Judge Dann scheduled to commence at Southport on 7 September.

See more news articles.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword