Magistracy bolstered by appointment of 10 acting magistrates

The ranks of the Queensland magistracy have been bolstered with the approval of 10 practitioners appointed to act as magistrates as required by Queensland’s Chief Magistrate.

Queensland Governor Paul de Jersey AC, acting on advice of the Government’s Executive Council under the Magistrates Act 1991, on 30 July approved a list of practitioners to perform as acting magistrates from 30 July 2021 to 30 June 2022.

A Department of Justice and Attorney General spokesman confirmed the appointments, saying they were listed in Volume 397 of the Queensland Government Gazette published last month.

The newly announced acting magistrates are Raelene Ellis, Catherine Morgan, Peter Cooke, Stephanie Tonkin, Patrick Murphy, Mark Bamberry, Rowan Silva, Laura Rouse, Ann-Maree Russo and Bradley Heilbronn.

QLS Proctor has been told the new acting magistrates will serve as required across Queensland’s south-east corner.

It is understood the release of the updated list takes into account a number of acting judicial officer retirements.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword