Land Court President appointed

Commercial litigation specialist and current Land Court member, Peta Stilgoe OAM, has been appointed President of the Land Court of Queensland. 

President Stilgoe has been a member of the Land Court since 2017 and acting in the role since May 2023. 

Peta Stilgoe

Called to the Bar in 1984, President Stilgoe created Planning and Environment Court history when she was appointed as the first Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Registrar in 2007 and introduced court-facilitated mediation. The position was initially a 12-month trial but was made permanent following its success.

President Stilgoe left the role of ADR Registrar in 2009 to become a member of the newly created Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal (QCAT), where she was again pivotal in introducing innovative and effective ADR processes. Her Honour served as a Senior Member of QCAT from 2012 until 2017.

In 2013, President Stilgoe’s contributions to ADR were further recognised when she was awarded an OAM for services to dispute resolution. She was made a Honorary Member of the Queensland Law Society in 2019.

Brisbane Barrister Nicholas Loos has been appointed as a full-time member of the court.


Member Loos, who was called to the Bar in 2010, has built a distinguished legal career appearing in all courts in Queensland, particularly the Planning and Environment Court and Land Court.

Attorney-General Yvette D’Ath congratulated them on their announcements this afternoon, saying: “President Stilgoe and Member Loos have each built outstanding legal careers and are very well qualified for their respective positions.”

Both appointees have started in their new roles.

Share this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword