Advertisement

Federal Court to host national conversation on employment law

The judges of the Federal Court of Australia have invited practitioners to a ‘Conversation on Current Issues in the Practice of Employment and Industrial Law’ on Wednesday 1 December.

The function, chaired by Justice Mordy Bromberg and Justice Darryl Rangiah, will be hosted from the Brisbane and Melbourne Federal Court registries and be live-streamed nationally.

It will feature three short presentations:

In Melbourne:

• Mark Irving QC (Victorian Bar) and Jim Hartley (Victorian Bar), WorkPac v Rossato

In Brisbane:

• Chris Murdoch QC (Queensland Bar) and Megan Brooks (Queensland Bar), ‘Work v Private Life – The Role of Employment Law’, and

• Giri Sivaraman (Maurice Blackburn, Deputy Chair of the QLS Industrial Law Committee) and Kristin Ramsey (HR Law, Chair of the QLS Industrial Law Committee), ‘Mandatory COVID Vaccinations and Employment’.

The event will commence at 5pm in Brisbane (6pm in Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra and Hobart; 5.30pm in Adelaide; 3pm in Perth, and 4.30pm in Darwin).

The function permits physical attendance in Brisbane (Court 1, Level 7) and will be followed by refreshments. Queensland practitioners should RSVP to Ms Elizabeth Sotiriadis at ea.brombergj@fedcourt.gov.au by Thursday 25 November.

Share this article
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search by keyword